Being in Azerbaijan for 33 months, I have experience much of what Azerbaijan has to offer. I will miss many things about living here, and I wanted to share a list of my favorite things.

1. The call to prayer
The call to prayer plays three times a day. It’s just such a beautiful sound over the loudspeakers, and it reminds me of the constant presence of God in my life.

Singing the call to prayer (in Turkey)

Singing the call to prayer (in Turkey)

2. Instant friendships and sharing food on buses
I have sat next to many people on the buses. I always love when the old women will talk to me and share their food. It makes the long bus ride a little more comfy, and I don’t starve.

3. Herds of animals in the road
Shepherds taking their animals out to pasture or back home via the main road is something that just doesn’t happen in America. It is such a normal part of life here. We must stop our car in order for the animals to walk around it.

The sheep are coming! Stop the car!!

The sheep are coming! Stop the car!!

The sheep have gone

The sheep have gone

4. Daily warm fresh bread
Not having fresh bread everyday will be sad. Fresh bread is the best. I have eaten half a loaf when it is hot!

5. Paklava
Although I only eat it during the Novruz Holiday, it is one of my favorite deserts.

Pakhlava

Pakhlava

6. Uch inek cheese
There is a type of cheese here called “uch inek” (3 cow). It became my cheese for poor man’s macaroni and cheese; it was my cheap go-to when I didn’t know what to eat; it livened up my salads and any dish that lacked flavor.

