For one of my souvenirs from Azerbaijan and of my Peace Corps service, I bought a carpet. This section of the world has been known for centuries for its carpet making. I originally thought I couldn’t afford it because in my mind carpets are big and for a specific purpose in a house. On a visit to Barda to see one of my friends, I arrived just in time to be whisked away to a local carpet factory where my friends wanted to buy carpets. As they looked at carpet patterns and talked about sizes, I decided I also needed a carpet. This carpet factory would work with you to change some of the colors plus you could write something on your carpet. I not only bought a carpet, some of my family bought carpets.

Here are some pictures of the carpet factory and the weavers. This carpet factory is run completely by women, and the weavers are refugees from Agdam (a city in ownership dispute between Azerbaijan and Armenia).

Carpet Factory

Carpet Factory

2 women work on 1 rug, typically

2 women work on 1 rug, typically

Last months 202

Last months 204

Guba design rug

Guba design rug

Garabagh design rug

Garabagh design rug

Sheki design rug

Sheki design rug

