The government is tearing down the old buildings, building new bigger better ones, restoring old roofs, tearing up the road, laying down new pipes, tearing up the sidewalks, laying down other pipes, and installing fire hydrants. They are doing these repairs ALL AT ONCE. It makes for a hectic situation with traffic and people using these roads at the same time. The government not only did all these renovations at one time, they did them to all the streets at the same time. Brilliant!

Because of all the renovations, I finally have to deal with mud! MUD! Mud is everywhere. I haven’t dealt with this much mud since my Pre Service Training days back in 2010. I have had 26 months of mud-less streets. All this mud is just one of the reasons I sometimes jokingly say to myself, “You should have left in November with the rest of your group.”

I am glad they are restoring some of the older buildings like the old church in town that the Germans had built (the church isn’t used for anything). I like their repairs of the houses in a more German style compared to the face-lift they gave the police building. Shamkir is becoming a new place.

Here are some pictures of my daily walk through Shamkir.

How to get around

How to get around

Traffic confusion

Traffic confusion

Blocking the Road

Blocking the Road

Dog in Mud

Dog in Mud

The new spa and relaxation center

The new spa and relaxation center

MUD

MUD

New roof completed

New roof completed

New roof

New roof

MUD

MUD

Where do I walk?

Where do I walk?

