Everyday at 1 pm, I walk the grulling 2 minutes home for lunch (I live 2 streets over and one block down from work). It’s nice to get a hot meal everyday and drink tea. The meals are always enjoyable, and I’m never hungry. Today, was a special day though. I realized the Azeri meal was actually a deconstructed hamburger.

We had what they call Cutlets. It’s ground meat that has been grilled in a patty like shape. To go with the meal there were green onions, tomatoes, and french fries. That’s almost everything that goes in a Hamburger. Since this was an Azeri meal, using bread as a utensil is essentail! Through the whole meal I resisted the temptation to take a piece of bread, cut it in half, and put the rest inside. My family asked if I liked it, I told them it was like a hamburger that we have in America. I like hamburgers. They gave me a funny look and just nodded.

A deconstructed Hamburger. Things like that make home not feel so far away and makes a new country not seem so strange.

